The Administrative Office is open Monday thru Friday 8am-4pm.
Please come in no later than a half-hour before we close to allow us sufficient
time to assist you. We will extend hours under special circumstances. We are closed on most legal holidays.
If you have a question, you may contact Jane Babrick at (231) 258-8686 extension 403 or
at extension 400.
Purchase Permit for Handguns:
In order to obtain a purchase permit in Kalkaska County you must
do the following:
1. Be a resident of Kalkaska County [Village residents go to Kalkaska
2. Be over 18 years of age
3. Possess a valid Michigan Drivers License or Michigan ID Card
4. Pass a (15) fifteen question State of Michigan Basic Pistol Safety
5. Have no felony convictions on criminal record, or court orders
prohibiting the possession of a gun.
When you report to our office, go to Administration Offices with
your driver's license or id card with a correct address. We will
ask a series of questions and run your criminal history. If the criminal
history comes back without felony convictions, the purchase permit will
be issued. A purchase permit is good for (10) ten days from the issuance
date. Effective 01/07/09, you are no longer required to bring in your handgun for physical inspection. The MSP and
agency copy of your application and License to Purchase a Pistol form must be turned into the Sheriff's Office upon
completion of purchase.
While the application and License To Purchase Permit is free, there is a $5.00 charge to notorize your signatures on the 4-part
form. A purchase permit is needed for each handgun purchased, unless you currently have a Concealed Pistol License (CPL) permit.
Changes to the License to Purchase and Pistol Registration Laws Beginning January 7, 2009
(Senate Bill 370, House Bill 4490 & House Bill 4491)
Forms that are affected:
RI-10 Individual License to purchase
Four part form, instead of three parts
Yellow paper instead of green
Additional fields are required: telephone number, race, sex and printed name of seller
RI-60 Pistol Sales Record (For Concealed Pistol License Holders)
Responsibility for completing forms changed from the seller to the purchaser
Four part form, instead of three parts
Additional fields are required: barrel length, zip code, county, race, sex, purchaser's telephone number,
seller's signature and printed name.
Changes in the law:
Physically presenting a pistol to the local police agency for safety inspection is no longer necessary. Pistol registration
can now be completed by mailing the registration (MSP and local agency copies) document (License to Purchase or Pistol Sales
Record) to the local police agency. Registration is still required. Again, this can be completed by mailing the MSP copy
and local agency copy to the Kalkaska County Sheriff's Office within 10 calendar days.
The purchaser and seller must complete and sign all four parts.
Print neatly and clearly in black ink with all correct information. Remember, if your writing is not legible, the pistol
registration can not be completed.
Violation of any pistol laws is still a crime. Penalties may include jail, fines, loss of your rights to possess and
purchase firearms, and forfeiture of your pistol.
Remember, the license to purchase must be used anytime a pistol is transferred from one person to another. Exception:
If the purchaser holds a valid Concealed Pistol License and utilizes the RI-60 Pistol Sales Record.
You may pick up a "free" gunlock at the Kalkaska Sheriff's
Office. These will be given out to all persons registering handguns,
while supplies last. Anyone else who needs a gunlock may also stop
into the office and request one, while supplies last. These gunlocks
work on handguns and long guns.
Concealed Pistol License (CPL) Applications:
The application packet for Concealed Pistol License (CPL) may be
obtained from the Administration Office, Monday - Friday during business
hours of 8A-4P. There is no charge for the packet. The packet
contains the Application Form needed to apply for a CPL Permit, along with
information regarding CPL laws.
Note: You may also download the Concealed Pistol License Application, just
Once the CPL application has been completed, you must turn it in
to the County Clerk's Office along with a passport size photo, training
certificates, and pay the required fee. After you have conducted
business with the County Clerk's Office, please return to the Sheriff's
Administration Office and request that fingerprints be taken. We
will need a copy of your receipt from the County Clerk, along with your
driver's license. The fingerprint fee is included in the fee that
you paid to the County Clerk.
CPL Permit Renewal standard may be different, please contact our
office for additional information.
For more information on CPL and Michigan Firearm Laws can be obtained
FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
Where do I go to obtain a Permit to Purchase a Firearm?
If you reside in Kalkaska County (Village residents go to Kalkaska
Village Police) you may obtain a purchase permit from the Kalkaska Sheriff's
Office Administration Office. Please provide valid photo identification
with your current address. After obtaining permit, you will have
10 days to purchase the firearm and have it safety inspected for registering
with our office.
I recently moved within the State of Michigan.
Do I need to change the address on my gun registration card?
No. Your Safety Inspection Certificate (gun registration)
is valid for as long as you reside in the state. No address update
I inherited a firearm. How do I register it?
If you are the heir to the estate, you will need an application and License to Purchase a Pistol Permit,
along with your driver's license or state i.d. card and a copy of the death certificate and deceased's registration
card (if you have it). If unable to locate the gun registration card,
we may have to hold the firearm overnight to run a record check.
If you are not the heir you may have to obtain a purchase permit and proceed
as though it is a sale and notations will be made on the permit in reference
the inheritance. And finally, then complete the safety inspection
on the gun.
I just moved to Michigan from another state.
How do I register my firearms?
If you reside in Kalkaska County, please bring the firearm into
the Administration Office at the Sheriff's Office. Make sure the
weapon is unloaded and encased. If may also be helpful to bring prior
state registrations (if applicable). We may need to hold the firearm
overnight to conduct a record check on it. If the firearm is clear
(not stolen, etc.) a Safety Inspection (gun registration) card will be
What is the procedure for renewing a Concealed Pistol License?
The renewal process is basically the same as applying for a new
permit except the training is not required. Instead applicants will
sign a statement stating that they have completed 3 hours of review of
the required training and 1 hour of range time in the last six months.
What is the procedure for applying for a Concealed Pistol License?
After completing the required training course, bring your training
certificate and completed application form to the County Clerks Office
at the Governmental Center along with $105.00 (cash or check) and passport
quality photos. (Do not cut photos) You will then need to go to the
Administration Office at Kalkaska Sheriff's Office with your driver's license
and receipt from the Co. Clerk. Our Corrections Staff will then fingerprint
you at no charge. Fingerprint fee was included in fee you paid to
Where can I complete the required training for a Concealed Pistol License?
You may wish to check with a local gun dealers or gun ranges for
Where can I obtain information of Michigan firearms
Information on Michigan firearms laws are available at the Michigan State Police web site at www.michigan.gov/msp